Home News Ankole Political Activists Club assesses area Woman MPs In The 150 days...

Ankole Political Activists Club assesses area Woman MPs In The 150 days In Parliament


By Innocent Arinaitwe


Ankole Political Activists Club-APAC released a scorecard assessing the 150 days performance of area Members of Parliament-MPs starting with Woman MPs.

During the event held at Generation Suites Mbarara, the club that comprises political analysts, activists Mugisha Nomax, Patrick Kabatereine Nugless, Ronald Kyamadidi, among others, announced that this is geared towards holding leaders accountable and informing their electorates about their achievements and failures monthly, quarterly & annually.

In today’s released scorecard, Rwampara’s Molly Asiimwe topped with 78% followed by Mbarara city’s Atukwasa Rita Bwahika with 58%, Ayebare Margaret Rwebyambu of Mbarara district with 51%, Jennifer Muheesi of Kazo 47%, Mugumya Clare of Isingiro district 30%, Jovanice Rwenduru of Kiruhura 26% and Ibanda’s Jane Bainomugisha came last with 13%.

According to the club, the assessment is based on the MPs’ media engagement, community presence, ensuring that there are services in their areas, participation in parliamentary plenaries, among others all in line with the 4 major functions of an MP.

Ar­ti­cle 79 of the con­sti­tu­tion pro­vides for the 4 main func­tions of Par­lia­ment, which are; to make laws for peace, or­der, de­vel­op­ment and good gov­er­nance of Uganda, per­forming the roles of over­sight, passing the national budget & rep­re­sen­ta­tion of the elec­torates.

The scorecard indicated that Molly Asiimwe has tried to fight land grabbing, water scarcity, supported sports and talent, etc in her area.

Scorecards shall be shared with the public using media and other avenues, parliament leadership including Speaker’s office & heads of committees and others stakeholders including non-government entities.

Different scorecards shall also be shared with Auditor General, Inspectorate of Government, State House Anti-Corruption Unit, among other relevant entities.

Leaders that will be assessed and their scorecards released include all MPs, LC 5 chairpersons, RDCs & RCCs, Chief Administrative Officers-CAOs, DHOs, DEOs, Mayors, City/Town Clerks & other technocrats, and all leaders from different areas for improved service delivery.

The club says this is geared towards realizing national development goals, inclusiveness & UN Sustainable Development Goals-SDGs 2030, and beyond.

Leave a Reply