NUP aspirants to pick expression of interest forms for KCCA speakership race

NUP spokesperson Joel Ssenyonyi calls upon all aspirants to pick interest forms on Thursday. File Photo
Share this News
KAARO KARUNGI | URN –  The National Unity Platform-NUP has asked aspirants seeking to contest for the position of speaker for Kampala Capital City Authority-KCCA to pick forms for expression of interest.

Joel Ssenyonyi, the NUP spokesperson says that all aspirants should pick forms on Thursday and then the party shall organize a meeting with them to agree on how the speakers shall be selected.

The party is yet to reveal a detailed process through which the speakers shall be selected but Ssenyonyi has emphasized that they shall not impose a candidate upon the councillors. He however says they will not use the same vetting process they used last year since the two elections are different.

Last year, NUP set up a committee to vet NUP aspirants for different political positions.

However, the committee came under the spotlight for alleged favoritism and corruption in the vetting process.

NUP emerged as the dominant party in Kampala with 41 out of 52 elected Lord councilors coming from NUP. This means that NUP is likely to produce the Speaker of the council who shall lead proceedings in the council.

So far, various councillors elect have come out publicly to express interest in the position but are waiting for guidance from their party.

The members are; Jeremiah Keeya from Lubaga North 1, Zahara Luyirika from Makindye West, Innocent Tegusulwa from Nakawa, John Mary Ssebufu from Nakawa West, Hakim Kizza Sawula from Makindye and James Mubiru from Lubaga North.

One of the aspirants Jeremiah Keeya Mwanje says he is ready to pick the expression of interest forms and shall follow the party guidelines including primaries if they are conducted. He says if the process sets him aside, he shall respect the decision and follow suit.

The government has scheduled the swearing-in for the President for May 12, while that of Members of Parliament will start on May 17.


About The Author


Leave a Reply