Home Sports Peace Kabasweka Claims Victory in the Uganda Ladies Open Golf Championship

Peace Kabasweka Claims Victory in the Uganda Ladies Open Golf Championship

peace kabasweka claims victory in the uganda ladies open golf championship
peace kabasweka claims victory in the uganda ladies open golf championship

Share this News

Kabasweka A. Peace secured her first Uganda Ladies Open Golf title in a thrilling final round at the Uganda Golf Club at Kitante. The tournament, sponsored by Johnnie Walker and several other partners, saw Kabasweka emerge as the champion, edging out her competition.

Final Leading Results:

Player Rounds Total Score Score Difference
Kabasweka A. Peace 68 75 78 221 +5
Madina Iddy Hussein 73 74 75 222 +6
Magala Evah 74 78 76 228 +12
Mercy Nyabende 78 75 76 229 +13
Martha Babirye 81 74 75 230 +14

Kabasweka A. Peace secured her victory by one stroke, with a total score of 221. Madina Iddy Hussein finished a close second with a score of 222. Magala Evah, Mercy Nyabende, and Martha Babirye followed closely in the standings.

Other News:   Uganda's National Council of Sports Requests 1.4 Trillion UGX for Sporting Events in New Budget

Kabasweka A. Peace, representing the Toro Golf Club, displayed her skills and determination throughout the tournament, ultimately claiming her first Uganda Ladies Open Golf title on the final day. The closely contested competition saw her tied with Tanzania’s Iddi Madina Hussein at the 15th hole after she initially held a four-shot lead.

In a remarkable display of composure, Kabasweka managed to secure victory by delivering three consecutive par scores on the 16th, 17th, and 18th holes. A bogey on the final hole by Madina Hussein ultimately cost her the championship title.

Kabasweka expressed her joy and relief at her hard-earned victory, stating, “I feel so happy, I am excited, and I am over the moon. I have chased this title for the last four years and I have been very close before. I almost gave up at number 18, but handed it to God on the last hole.”

Other News:   Lugogo Land Dispute Hinders Progress on Sh790 Billion Sports Complex Renovation

Her foundation for success was laid on the first day of the tournament, where favorable rainy conditions played to her advantage, allowing her to build a solid five-stroke lead.

The Uganda Ladies Open Golf Championship attracted participants from various countries, including Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, Malawi, Sweden, and China.

The event was proudly sponsored by Uganda Breweries Limited under their brand Johnnie Walker, along with support from Absa Bank Uganda, Case Medical Services, HK Properties, Medisell, Pinnacle Security Limited, NBS Sports, and Royal and Ancient Crown Beverages Limited.

Other News:   Jesse Lingard named Premier League Player of the Month for April

Notable previous winners of the tournament since 2011 were also recognized, with Peace Kabasweka adding her name to the list of champions in 2023.

Previous Winners Since 2011:

  • 2023 – Peace Kabasweka (Uganda)
  • 2022 – Martha Babirye (Uganda)
  • 2021 – Irene Nakalembe (Uganda)
  • 2020 – Martha Babirye (Uganda)
  • 2019 – Martha Babirye (Uganda)
  • 2018 – Neema Olomi (Tanzania)
  • 2017 – Angel Eaton (Tanzania)
  • 2016 – Flavia Namakula (Uganda)
  • 2015 – Flavia Namakula (Uganda)
  • 2014 – Flavia Namakula (Uganda)
  • 2013 – Angel Eaton (Tanzania)
  • 2012 – Angel Eaton (Tanzania)
  • 2011 – Flavia Namakula (Uganda)