Home News Uganda’s Parliamentary Commission Fully Constituted for 2024

Uganda’s Parliamentary Commission Fully Constituted for 2024

Parliamentary Commission constituted
Parliamentary Commission constituted

Share this News

The Parliamentary Commission, mandated by Article 87A of the Constitution, has been fully constituted with the endorsement of the Leader of the Opposition and four backbench Commissioners in Uganda.

In a notable change in leadership, Hon. Joel Ssenyonyi assumes the role of the Leader of the Opposition, succeeding Hon. Mathias Mpuuga. Mpuuga, in turn, transitions to a backbench Commissioner representing the Opposition. The four backbench Commissioners also include Hon. Solomon Silwany, Hon. Prossy Akampurira, and Hon. Esther Afoyochan, who retained their positions as representatives of the ruling National Resistance Movement Party.

Other News:   Local govt accounting officers to explain unspent balances

The pronouncements were made by Speaker Anita Among during the plenary sitting on Tuesday, January 9, 2024. The names of the office bearers were formally presented by both the Government Chief Whip, Hon. Hamson Obua, and the Chief Opposition Whip, Hon. John Baptist Nambeshe.

According to Section 2 (2) of the Administration of Parliament Act, the composition of the Commission, the highest decision-making organ of the Legislature, includes the Speaker, Deputy Speaker, Leader of Government Business, Leader of the Opposition, the Minister responsible for Finance, and four Commissioners (Backbench Members of Parliament).

Other News:   Gov't announces second wave of Covid-19

The Clerk to Parliament serves as the Secretary to the Commission, with functions that include exercising disciplinary control over staff and making recommendations on allowances and privileges for parliamentary officials.

Speaker Among also announced changes in other roles. Hon. Abdu Katuntu (Indep., Bugweri County) will replace Hon. Eric Musana (Indep., Buyaga East County) as a representative of independents at the Pan African Parliament. Additionally, Hon. Elijah Okupa (Indep., Kasilo County) has assumed a position on the board of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA).

Other News:   Nabbanja, ministers run for their lives as Amuru district locals chase them

During the sitting, new leadership and membership for various Standing Committees of Parliament were established, with Hon. Medard Sseggona replacing Ssenyonyi as the Chairperson of the Committee on Public Accounts (Commissions, Statutory Authorities, and State Enterprises – COSASE).